Final Fantasy XVI PS5 Final Fantasy 16

Final Fantasy XVI Characters and World Details Revealed

Final Fantasy XVI is currently in development for PS5 and PC and while we won’t be able to play the game until sometime late in 2021, Square Enix shared new information on the ambitious new RPG. The new details touch on the game’s world and characters including the setting and how Mothercrystals have raged countless in the past.

Naoki Yoshida, producer of Final Fantasy XVI shared an update on the PlayStation Blog saying the entire PS5 development team is hard at work on the game. He claims the next announcement will only arrive in 2021. However, there’s a new Final Fantasy XVI teaser website live which users can explore. The site includes new details and information about the upcoming game including new artwork which welcomes players to the land of Valisthea.

Final Fantasy XVI takes place in the land called Valisthea. Yoshida says the land is studded with colossal mountains of crystal called Mothercrystals. These Mothercrystals have been around for generations blessing the people with magic called aether.

Final Fantasy XVI PS5

[perfectpullquote align=”full” bordertop=”false” cite=”” link=”” color=”#FF5833″ class=”” size=”21″]Countless wars have been fought over the Mothercrystals all around the land, leading to the rise of nations such as the Grand Duchy of Rosaria, the Holy Empire of Sanbreque, the Kingdom of Waloed, the Dhalmekian Republic, and the Iron Kingdom, each with their own culture and ideology. Ongoing skirmishes have forged an uneasy peace between these nations, but with the emergence of the ruinous Blight, that fragile peace is starting to deteriorate.[/perfectpullquote]


Cyberpunk 2077 Devs Get Death Threats Over Game Delay

Yoshida revealed that both the young knight and the tattooed man in the recent “Awakening” trailer are the same person. His name is Clive Rosfield, the main protagonist of Final Fantasy XVI.

[perfectpullquote align=”full” bordertop=”false” cite=”” link=”” color=”#FF5833″ class=”” size=”21″]The firstborn son of the Archduke of Rosaria, Clive is a Shield who protects his younger brother Joshua, the Dominant of the Phoenix. Joshua bestowed the Blessing of the Phoenix upon him, giving Clive the ability to wield a part of the Eikon’s fire. However, as the story unfolds, he is swept up into a great tragedy.[/perfectpullquote]

Joshua Rosfield is Clive’s younger brother and is also the Dominant of the Phoenix – Eikon of Fire. Dominants are special beings who have the power of an Eikon inside of them. This allows them to transform into a magical being. Joshua can transform into the Phoenix which fights and protects his nation.

[perfectpullquote align=”full” bordertop=”false” cite=”” link=”” color=”#33C0FF” class=”” size=”21″]The two brothers find a confidant in Jill Warrick, who was raised alongside them. At an early age, Jill was taken from her homeland in the Northern Territories—a nation that swore loyalty to the Grand Duchy of Rosaria—to become a ward of the duchy, securing peace between the two realms. She spends her childhood years with Clive and Joshua as a member of the Rosfield household.[/perfectpullquote]

Eikons in Final Fantasy XVI act as the summons. Anyone familiar with the series will know these beings have taken up different names across different games. They are the most destructive and lethal creatures in the universe and wield powers that can level nations. In the previous trailer, we got a glimpse of Phoenix, Titan, Shiva, and Ifrit. Yoshida claims there’s many more to be revealed in the distant future.

Catch up on the trailer down below. Final Fantasy XVI is set to launch on PS5 and PC sometime in 2021.

Marco is the owner and founder of GLITCHED. South Africa’s largest gaming and pop culture website. GLITCHED quickly established itself with tech and gaming enthusiasts with on-point opinions, quick coverage of breaking events and unbiased reviews across its website, social platforms, and YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *