Avatar The Last Airbender Live-Action Netflix Season 2 3 Renewed

Netflix’s Avatar: The Last Airbender Changes Showrunners

The Netflix adaptation of Avatar: The Last Airbender has changed showrunners after Albert Kim announced his departure from the series yesterday. Christine Boylan and Jabbar Raisani will step in to lead season 2 as executive producers, though Kim will still be credited as an executive producer for subsequent seasons.

As revealed by The Hollywood Reporter, Albert Kim will be stepping down as the showrunner of Avatar: The Last Airbender in order to work with Disney on the new Percy Jackson series. His role will be filled by Christine Boylan and Jabbar Raisani for season 2 and presumably season 3 – both of which served as co-executive producers on season 1. Kim’s intention was apparently to lay the groundwork for season 1 and the show moving forward.

Despite a divisive reception among fans and critics, the viewership numbers for the live-action Avatar: The Last Airbender were so successful that it overtook One Piece‘s viewership in a four-day period. Netflix immediately greenlit both season 2 and 3 following this success, meaning it will likely cover and adapt the rest of the animated source material to completion.

While the live-action series didn’t land for many long-time fans, the millions of views evidently show that there’s a market for it. It remains to be seen if the same success will carry over to the next season as fans who didn’t like the first season might’ve resolved not to watch follow-up seasons. The show currently boasts a 7.2/10 rating on iMDB from over 64k votes while it holds a middling 60% on RottenTomatoes.

All eight episodes of Avatar: The Last Airbender are now available to stream on Netflix.

Source: The Hollywood Reporter

Editor-in-Chief of Nexus Hub, writer at GLITCHED. Former writer at The Gaming Report and All Otaku Online. RPG addict that has wonderful nightmares of Bloodborne 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *