To maintain security, limit data retention, and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity. Inactivity means the user hasn’t connected to WhatsApp.
WhatsApp has been making waves recently due to its new forced policy. Many users worry about their privacy being invaded as the new terms state that WhatsApp can share your private messages in certain circumstances. This is specifically related to conversations with businesses and brands. However, messages between one user to another are remaining end-to-end encrypted.
The messages which are shared can be stored on the Facebook servers and used for data such as advertising. This is most likely the biggest change in the policy to date.
The official WhatsApp site explains exactly what will happen after the effective date:
To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.
You can still accept the updates after May 15th.
Before May 15th, you can export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and download a report of your account. If you’d like to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS, we hope you reconsider. It is something we cannot reverse as it erases your message history, removes you from all of your WhatsApp groups, and deletes your WhatsApp backups.