World of Warcraft: Classic servers DDoS Attacks WoW: Classic
Gaming News PC

World of Warcraft: Classic Content Plan Revealed

All the way back at Blizzcon 2017, Blizzard Entertainment announced what some veteran WoW players have been waiting for which feels like forever – World of Warcraft: Classic. At the time, there were four phases of content planned, but now, things have changed a little and World of Warcraft: Classic will have six phases of content.

Related: Fortnite 8.10 Patch Notes Revealed – A Hamster Ball Vehicle, LTM and More

You don’t have the full World of Warcraft: Classic experience when it launches in “Summer 2019” which is winter for our South African readers. Instead, World of Warcraft: Classic will bring the nostalgia in six phases, launching with all the game’s earliest content through to patch 1.2. Then, content drops will come afterwards.

It makes sense really, as you can’t just throw in Naxxramas or AQ40 right from the start. Players need to experience all those Molten Core runs, all those grinds and everything that made the original World of Warcraft so great back when it released in 2004. The end of the World of Warcraft: Classic phases will see the Scourge invasion, which was a really fun mess back in the day, I typed with my rose-coloured glasses firmly on.

Blizzard explained in a recent forum post that:

Currently, based on both your feedback and our own deliberations, we’re now planning to increase it to six phases. Our focus is still primarily on player power-progression, but we’re also aiming to capture what it felt like to play in a realm community in original WoW. To do that, we’re planning to mirror the approach taken by original WoW, with patches paired together. We’ll launch Classic with content from original WoW through patch 1.2.x, then the second update will include content that was in original WoW 1.3 and 1.4, the third Classic update will have 1.5 and 1.6 content, and so on.

Check out the six phases as laid out by Blizzard below.

Phase 1 (Classic Launch)

  • Molten Core
  • Onyxia
  • Maraudon

Phase 2

  • Dire Maul
  • Azuregos
  • Kazzak

Phase 3

  • Blackwing Lair
  • Darkmoon Faire
  • Darkmoon deck drops begin

Phase 4

  • Zul’Gurub
  • Green Dragons

Phase 5

  • Ahn’Qiraj War Effort begins
  • Ahn’Qiraj raids open when the war effort dictates
  • Dungeon loot reconfiguration: Tier 0.5 Dungeon gear, Relics, drop rates and location changes

Phase 6

  • Naxxramas
  • Scourge Invasion

Are you excited for World of Warcraft: Classic and what do you think about Blizzard’s plans? Let us know in the comment section below.

[su_youtube url=”” width=”600″]

Marco is the owner and founder of GLITCHED. South Africa’s largest gaming and pop culture website. GLITCHED quickly established itself with tech and gaming enthusiasts with on-point opinions, quick coverage of breaking events and unbiased reviews across its website, social platforms, and YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *