World of Warcraft: Classic servers DDoS Attacks WoW: Classic

World of Warcraft: Classic Could Bring Back Corpse-Camping

World of Warcraft: Classic is set to release sometime “this summer” or for our local readers, sometime this winter. Last month, we reported on Blizzard’s six-phase PvE content plan and now, Blizzard has revealed their plans for World of Warcraft: Classic PvP. The PvP content and update plan does look pretty great and falls in line with what World of Warcraft veterans experienced all those years ago. However, that experience wasn’t always great thanks to relentless corpse-camping and griefing on PvP servers.

RELATED: World of Warcraft: Classic Content Plan Revealed

When World of Warcraft: Classic officially releases, the first phase will likely bring back corpse-camping and griefing with absolutely no repercussions. In a forum post, Blizzard explained that:

As was the case when World of Warcraft originally launched in 2004, there won’t be a formal PvP system in WoW Classic at the outset. You’ll still be able to PvP, of course, and there will be no Dishonorable Kills, so you’ll be free to repeatedly hunt down every player and NPC in, say, Stranglethorn Vale to your stealthy heart’s content.

As someone who played the game at launch on a PvP server, I have to say that those were frustrating times. Even so, this looks to be the true classic experience and that is what fans asked for, right? The thing is, it will get better when Phase 2 gets released, bringing with it the honour system in its earliest form with those classic ranked rewards and more.

Then, Blizzard also plans to release the first two Battlegrounds in Phase 3, namely Alterac Valley and Warsong Gulch alongside their vendors, with Arathi Basin to follow with Phase 4. Lastly, PvP objectives in Silithus and Eastern Plaguelands will be added to the game. Check out the full list of World of Warcraft: Classic PvP plans below.

Phase 1

  • You can PvP one another in the world, but there is no tracking, and no formal rewards for doing so.

Phase 2

  • Honor System (including Dishonorable Kills)
  • PvP Rank Rewards

Phase 3

  • Alterac Valley (version 1.12)
  • Warsong Gulch

Phase 4

  • Arathi Basin

Phase 6

  • World PvP objectives in Silithus and Eastern Plaguelands

Oddly enough, Phase 5 was not detailed and left out for some reason. I, for one, am both excited and afraid for the “good old days” of WoW PvP. What do you think about Blizzard’s plans and are you excited to return to the beginning of WoW? Let us know in the comment section below.

[su_youtube url=”” width=”600″]

Marco is the owner and founder of GLITCHED. South Africa’s largest gaming and pop culture website. GLITCHED quickly established itself with tech and gaming enthusiasts with on-point opinions, quick coverage of breaking events and unbiased reviews across its website, social platforms, and YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *